消费类产品

在伟创力的参与下,谷歌 Chromecast™ 从想法产生到原型制成仅花费了四周时间

谷歌在向流媒体市场进军时,需要一个拥有全球化设计、工程、制造和营销专业知识,并且在发明智能化消费类产品方面具有认证专业能力的合作伙伴。
 

 

业务目标 

谷歌希望向一个规模空前的大众市场提供在线流媒体产品,因而选择与伟创力合作设计适合在任何起居室中使用的突破性设备。谷歌与伟创力携手打造出 Chromecast,一路攻克种种设计难题,在竞争十分激烈的环境中快速将产品投入市场。
  1. 客户
    谷歌
  2. 产品
    Chromecast
  3. 服务
    Sketch-to-Scale®, 设计, 原型创建, 供应链

 

 

 

 

谷歌与伟创力联手:

  • 完成了 Chromecast 的构思设计到全球量产

  • 在四周时间里完成了 Chromecast 的原型设计

  • 通过 Sketch-to-Scale™(从概念成型到规模量产)解决方案解决了诸多设计与工程难题,例如体积、价格、无线功能和温度

  • 加快产品上市速度,在市场进入和价格方面打败了竞争对手

 

 

设计出一款印刷电路板 (PCB) 来克服技术难题

谷歌想寻求一个能够设计、筹划和规模量产设备的合作伙伴,于是找到伟创力,分享了有关其产品的尚不成熟的概念。这款当时还未揭开面纱的装置允许用户将移动设备或是笔记本电脑中的内容即时“投放”到电视屏幕上,这一功能与其他同类产品一样。但与其他产品不同之处在于,谷歌要求它必须具有小巧的外形和颇具竞争力的价格。

伟创力工程师们设计出一款具有独创外观的八角形印刷电路板,同时还克服了其他种种重大技术难题。这款电路板的设计利用电路之间的空隙散发热量,从而避免电路过热而烧毁。伟创力开发出一种天线,其缆带紧贴在电路板层之间,可以捕获从平面屏幕设备背面发出的信号。谷歌与伟创力最终共同设计出一个原型设备,只花了四周时间。

 伟创力精密塑料

 

通过协作解决创新问题

在一个纷繁复杂的年代,进军市场的速度是领先者与落后者之间的分水岭,因此必须同时在多条战线上开展创新。谷歌与伟创力的协作使 Chromecast 的设计成功出世,并且以惊人的速度将这款产品送到消费者手中。我们深厚的跨行业专业知识可产生常态性的技术组合优势,能够帮助像谷歌这样的客户快速进军市场并保持其领导地位。

最终成型的体积与外观,再加上实惠的价格,让 Chromecast 从同类产品中脱颖而出。谷歌于 2013 年 7 月开始以 35 美元的价格出售 Chromecast 流媒体播放器,与竞争对手推出的价位在 100 美元以上的同类产品相比,显然是更加经济实惠的选择。在投产的前四个月里,伟创力生产了 700 万台播放器。

Chromecast

Consumer

Google Chromecast™ goes from idea to prototype in four weeks with Flex

Google’s foray into the streaming media market required a partner with global design, engineering, manufacturing and marketing know-how, plus proven expertise inventing intelligent consumer products.
 

 

Business Objective 

Google wanted to bring streaming online media to an unprecedented mass market, so it turned to Flex to create a disruptive device for living rooms everywhere. Together, Google and Flex brought the Chromecast to life, conquering design challenges along the way and launching the product quickly in an extremely competitive environment.
  1. Customer
    Google
  2. Product
    Chromecast
  3. Services
    Sketch-to-Scale®, design, prototype creation, supply chain

 

 

 

 

Google partnered with Flex to:

  • Take Chromecast from idea to concept to worldwide production

  • Design a prototype of the Chromecast in four weeks

  • Solve design and engineering challenges such as size, price, wireless capabilities and temperature with Sketch-to-Scale™ solutions

  • Speed time to market, beating competitors on both market entry and price

 

 

Designing a printed circuit board (PCB) to overcome technological challenges

Google engaged with Flex, sharing only rudimentary concepts of its product, seeking a partner to design, engineer and manufacture the device at scale. The then-secret gadget would allow users to instantly “cast” content from mobile devices or laptops to television screens, the way similar products did at the time. But unlike other products, Google needed it to be small, sleek and at an ultra-competitive price point.

Flex engineers designed an octagonal-shaped, printed, circuit board — an unprecedented form factor — and solved other significant technological challenges, too. The design of the circuit board took advantage of the gaps between circuits to disperse heat so it wouldn’t burn the circuitry. Flex developed an antenna with a ribbon nestled between the layers of the circuit board that could sniff out a signal from behind a flat-screen. Together, Google and Flex designed a working prototype in just four weeks

 Flex Precision Plastics

 

Solving the problems of innovation through collaboration

In an age of disruption, where time to market makes the difference between pioneers and laggards, innovation must happen on multiple fronts. The collaboration between Google and Flex brought the Chromecast design to life and got the device into consumers’ hands at a staggering pace. Our deep cross-industry expertise engenders an institutional cross-pollination that allows customers like Google to get to market fast and maintain its leadership position.

The resulting size and curves differentiate Chromecast from its competitors—and so does the price. Google began selling its Chromecast streaming sticks for $35 in July 2013, offering a more accessible alternative to competitors’ $100+ dollar products. Flex manufactured 7 million of the devices during the first four months of production.

Chromecast